Of Visible Results.


Of course, I’m not the best person to illustrate this. I could do better in terms of discipline and sticking to the plan.

Here’s my story anyway…

I’ve tried for many years but I could never sustain the body shape I desired. My diet would fluctuate, my exercise plans are on and off.

Somehow, after my 2XU half marathon in March this year, I developed a running routine. I was running regularly. It became a habit. Because of this trigger, I am proud to say I was able to document my running log consistently, and keep a full month (31 days) of food logging.

It is normal though, for some turn of events i.e. exams, to break this ideal routine.

HOW TO DEVELOP AN EXERCISE ROUTINE?

These are 10 ways which works for me. They may not all apply to you, but I swear by most of them.

2014-03-23 10.09.31

  1. It helps that I have a school gym which I have free access to.
  2. Sign up for a sport. In my case, I’m in my school’s competitive climb team, which trains 2 times a week
  3. Surround yourself with fit gurus offline. Have a “Monday runs with B” or “Wednesday gyms with J”. That way, you can’t pull out the last minute and let them down. >:]
  4. Talk fitness. I know I have Joanne, whom I meet every Friday for class. We’ll discuss our pitfalls, our food logs, swoon over fit bodies, and that’ll start our week right.
  5. Like-minded friends with similar fitness goals as you, be it stronger quads, visible abs, being able to do pull ups, etc.
  6. Be inspired by fitness online. Pinterest, Instagram, Tumblr, blogs… They are everywhere. #eatcleantrainmean #fitspo #girlwholifts #girlwhosquats They’ll mess your mind up, for sure. At least you’ll find a virtual community that makes you feel you’re not alone.
  7. Fitness at work. Thankfully for me, I work in my school gym. It’s hard to stay unmotivated when your job entails watching people lift.
  8. That I am working towards being a certified Personal Trainer, a goal since I started work at the gym in 2012.
  9. Share it on social media. That was my tipping point. You find yourself living to others’ expectations of you, so you are less likely to cheat on your workouts. There is no more fulfilling way than to see others be inspired by what you do and believe in. This sure takes a bold step, to be subject to people’s judgment. My advice? If it’s what you believe in, what you will commit to, there is nothing others can say to put you down.
  10. Celebrate your milestones. Personally, transformations motivate me the most. Seeing the progress you’ve made is especially encouraging.

left arm 4 dates

Above all, stand tall, love yourself & be humble.

I’m a work in progress.

Leave a Reply

