May’s Notes.


 

Rather than banning certain types of food completely from your diet, try reducing your consumption of these foods. Depriving yourself of them can often lead to an irresistible urge to eat them, which can lead to binges and feelings of guilt and failure. Eating smaller portions of chocolate, for example, will leave your tongue satisfied and your mind happy for having maintained the rules you have set for yourself.

My take:

My current struggle is exactly eating the foods I”m not supposed to, at exactly the wrong times of the day.

Just yesterday during tuition @ Vanessa’s, I ate CHIPS past EIGHT at night. That’s a double red strike. I can’t seem to be able to hold off any offers from people although it is way against my diet principles.

On Tuesday during tuition @ Kaylee’s, I was offered green tea and a sandwich with white bread and I ate it all up. Sigh, I’m so ashamed at myself. I couldn’t resist the ham and egg filling. I couldn’t resist the sight. 😥

I eat even though I don’t fancy the taste. I just don’t mind eating them. How should I raise the standards of what I put in my mouth?

I notice I eat when I feel bored. There isn’t anything to keep me occupied enough for me not to get distracted by the thought of food. Do I get rid of boredom then? Keep myself wholly busy throughout the day? Is that even possible?

I prepared yoghurt for lunch just to prevent me from snacking on unhealthy carbs, and I see salty tapioca chips inches away from me. I take my yoghurt, together with tapioca chips. Gee. Bel! What is so wrong with you?!
Some say to banish the food out my sight/ not stock up such food. You will never catch me spending my own money purchasing such unhealthy food. But when it comes to offers, it’s a different story altogether.

It’s the day for exercise. I finally have the evening off. Oh, but look at the darn weather. It’s so scorching warm out there. The weather is a killjoy. I don’t want to get anymore melanin buildup (read: freckles) than I already have on my face. Bye bye exercise. Hello TV.
Oh dear! That’s the typical day for me of late during days off. I consulted Duncan and he gave me two words: “Set alarm.” Fit in a morning exercise instead of an evening one. I suppose that works. Lovely weather, and you get to get exercise out of the way. Except, how do I say no to sleep?!

 

How do I learn to say no and yes at the correct time? How do I learn to be steadfast to my principles?

 

Mental note for the month of May:

1)  Interval training (short bouts of high intensity runs) instead of long, slow jogs.

Intervals are great for upping calorie burn during your workout, but to keep metabolism high hours after you’ve left the gym, you need to exercise once or twice a week for 45 minutes at a steady level that makes it difficult to converse (about a 7 on a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being the hardest you could go). Relax after the tough workout, and revel as you burn nearly 200 more calories from your couch.

2)  Add strength training (crunches, planks, sit ups, push ups) on top of my regular cardio exercises.

Two or three times a week, finish your calorie-zapping cardio sessions with 15 to 30 minutes of strength training. “Perform 12 to 20 reps of moves that engage as many muscles as possible, such as squats, planks, lunges and push-ups,” Coopersmith says. “You’ll get higher muscle activation and calorie burning with this strategy.”

3)  Count the number of hours I sleep, and make sure I get 8.

 

2 thoughts on “May’s Notes.

  1. Fascinating blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it
    from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog stand out.
    Please let me know where you got your design. Kudos

    • Hello,
      Thank you! It’s a custom theme. Unfortunately, wordpress.com doesn’t allow users to edit html. I would love to be able to install some plugins if I could! Still exploring and experimenting. Thank you for the advice!

Leave a Reply

